Mad Online Gaming
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

2nd processor?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mad Gaming Forums Forum Index -> Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JawZ



Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991
Location: Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:23 am    Post subject: 2nd processor? Reply with quote

has gone into hiding since reformat, any idea on how to get it back?

i aer useless.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanTheMan



Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 1667

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

System specs plz

1) Does your computer beep on post , if so how many times?

2) Have you reseated your ram?? (and gfx card)

Take it out , clean the slots, maybe test each stick as bad ram can do alsorts to your pc.

3) Is your cpu showing properly in bios?

4) Go to msconfig, boot tab, check the boot log box, then read after reboot, is it showing 2 cores? if not, try and force it in advanced options.

what model motherboard do you have, you are having symtoms like i had when my mobo went fried. had to get a new one, although power may be an issue if a rail has gone down, the power to the processor ( small 4 pin connector) may be faulty.

If it is amd, use the dual core optimiser, but if you are service pack 3, it is installed as standard (assuming XP).


look in system event viewer ( right click my comp > manage > event viewer. may give you clues in the issues it has there.
_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupidity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JawZ



Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991
Location: Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DanTheMan wrote:
System specs plz

1) Does your computer beep on post , if so how many times?

2) Have you reseated your ram?? (and gfx card)

Take it out , clean the slots, maybe test each stick as bad ram can do alsorts to your pc.

3) Is your cpu showing properly in bios?

4) Go to msconfig, boot tab, check the boot log box, then read after reboot, is it showing 2 cores? if not, try and force it in advanced options.

what model motherboard do you have, you are having symtoms like i had when my mobo went fried. had to get a new one, although power may be an issue if a rail has gone down, the power to the processor ( small 4 pin connector) may be faulty.

If it is amd, use the dual core optimiser, but if you are service pack 3, it is installed as standard (assuming XP).


look in system event viewer ( right click my comp > manage > event viewer. may give you clues in the issues it has there.


specs
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp.080413-2111)

1. Not sure
2. yes
3. yes
4. it shows 1 core, have tried forcing it to use 2 cores, but it didnt boot up.

yes amd, yes sp3, has used the optimizer.

additional notes
seems we can only get it to install successfully as a "standard PC" which to my knowledge does support 2 cores?
ACPI multiprocessor based - seems to crash during the installation of windows everytime without fail
The other multiprocessor options seems to install windows fine, but we seem to be hitting a brick wall when installing the graphic drivers? results in a blue screen on the reboot after they has been installed - thus stuckusing the "standard PC" option >_>
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanTheMan



Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 1667

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a hotfix for xp that isn`t in a update (apparently) for dual cores which can be downloaded Here, apparently it fixes a power management issue within XP that will not let the second CPU start up
_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupidity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JawZ



Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991
Location: Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that hotfix has been tried, it didnt work

we tried using my old ATI graphics card, but that kept crashjing during windows install
tried onboard graphics, same result
tried installing windows on different hardrives, same result.

it seems it will only install and work as a standard PC with the nvidia grx card, but cant seem to change it to get the 2nd core as it just crashes or blue screens alltime.

but at the moment the situation is it now wont even boot up at all Razz

new computer time? but with so much out there what to get O_O.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanTheMan



Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 1667

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It`s not your whole pc. it`s your motherboard, i had the same thing, but mine fried 2 power supplies also. i got a descent 790 chipset amd board for £60 3 months ago, so maybe cheaper now. Pc much more stable now also v quiet too Smile
_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupidity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JawZ



Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991
Location: Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

somehoew got it back.
but its back to square one
standard pc 1 core.

so u think my mobo fried Sad

tho a new computer/better than i got wouldnt do no harm Razz the thing i had struggled with cod4
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JawZ



Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 1991
Location: Bedfordshire

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay changed the drive that was being used as a boot, and whacked in the old ati card, seemed toinstall fine. the old drive must be semi broked or something?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanTheMan



Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 1667

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

may have errors / bad sectors on it, you can use ultimate boot cd to scan it for errors, or install ubuntu and it will tell you straight away.
_________________
Never underestimate the power of stupidity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mad Gaming Forums Forum Index -> Help All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group